Faculty Advisory Committee

Twenty-five top U-M scientist and researchers serve on the Faculty Advisory Committee for University of Michigan Precision Health (PH). 

The committee makes recommendations to the co-directors and Executive Committee for the overall scientific direction, strategies, and investments in PH research programs and infrastructure.  By bringing together researchers from a range of interest areas, the Committee creates opportunities for collaborative research among faculty from different schools, Michigan Medicine, and health care organizations throughout Michigan. The committee also provides review support and helps establish the objectives for the PH competitive grants program.   

The committee is chaired by John Ayanian, M.D., M.P.P.  Ayanian is the director of U-M’s Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation (IHPI) and the Alice Hamilton Professor of Medicine,U-M Medical School, as well as a professor of Health Management and Policy, U-M School of Public Health, and professor of Public Policy, U-M Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy.  

Regular members include:

  • George Alter, Research Professor, Population Studies Center, Institute for Social Research, and Professor, History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
  • Brian Denton, Professor, Industrial & Operations Engineering, College of Engineering, and Professor, Urology, Medical School
  • Karen Farris, Charles R. Walgreen III Professor of Pharmacy Administration and Chair, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy; and Professor, Health Behavior and Health Education, School of Public Health
  • Eric Fearon, Professor, Human Genetics; Professor, Internal Medicine; Professor, Pathology; Director, U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center; Chief, Division of Molecular Medicine & Genetics; and Emanuel N. Maisel Professor of Oncology, Medical School
  • Janean Holden, Barbara A. Therrien Collegiate Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, and Associate Dean, Research and Rackham Graduate Studies
  • H.V. Jagadish, Bernard A. Galler Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, College of Engineering
  • Matthias Kretzler, Professor, Internal Medicine,and Research Professor, Computational Medicine & Bioinformatics, Medical School
  • Margaret Levenstein, Research Professor, Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research; Research Professor, School of Information; Adjunct Professor, Business Economics & Public Policy, Ross School of Business; and Director, ICPSR
  • Donna Martin, Donita B. Sullivan Research Professor in Pediatrics; Professor, Pediatrics; and Professor, Human Genetics, Medical School
  • Bhramar Mukherjee, John D. Kalbfleisch Collegiate Professor of Biostatistics; Associate Chair, Biostatistics; Professor, Epidemiology, School of Public Health; and Associate Director for Population Sciences, U-M Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Doug Noll, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Professor of Biomedical Engineering, College of Engineering; Professor, Radiology, Medical School; and Co-Director, Functional MRI Laboratory
  • Elizabeth Speliotes, Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, and Associate Professor, Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics, Medical School
  • Patricia Wittkopp, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; and Professor of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology, Medical School
  • Brian Zikmund-Fisher, Associate Professor, Health Behavior & Health Education, School of Public Health, and Research Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, Medical School

Ex-Officio members include:

  • Goncalo Abecasis, PH Co-Director, and Professor & Chair, Biostatistics, School of Public Health
  • Steve Ceccio, Professor, Engineering; Professor, Mechanical Engineering; and Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
  • Roger Cone, Vice Provost and Director, Biosciences Initiative
  • Rebecca Cunningham, Associate Vice President, Research, Health Sciences, UMOR, and Professor, Emergency Medicine, Medical School
  • Al Hero, Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, College of Engineering, and Co-Director, Michigan Institute for Data Science
  • Sachin Kheterpal, PH Co-Director; Associate Professor, Anesthesiology, and Associate Dean for Research Information Technology, Medical School
  • John Meeker, Professor, Environmental Health Sciences, and Senior Associate Dean, Research, School of Public Health
  • Eric Michielssen, PH Co-Director; Professor, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, College of Engineering; and Associate Vice President, Advanced Research Computing, Office of Research
  • Bishr Omary, Chief Scientific Officer; Executive Vice Dean, Research; Professor, Gastroenterology; Professor, Molecular & Integrative Physiology; and Professor, Internal Medicine, Medical School